AFTER 14 months of legal battle, Kwara State House of Assembly on Tuesday bowed to pressure by swearing in Raheem Agboola as the only Peoples Democratic Party member in the 24-member Assembly.

The All Progressives Congress won all the 24 seats in the Assembly, but one of the seats; Ilorin South Constituency of the state Assembly, was upturned by the Election Petition Tribunal and upheld by the Court of Appeal.

Recall that Agboola was declared as the winner of the Ilorin South Constituency Election in the March 10, 2019 state Assembly election by the Court of Appeal in Ilorin in November 2019, but the Speaker, Yakubu Danladi-Salihu, claimed that there were other litigations on the election.

The APC later pursued the litigation to the Supreme Court which ruled against the party and described the appeal as an abuse of Court processes, imposing a fine of N300,000 on the party and its candidate, Abdulazee Elewu.

However, the Speaker said that the administration of the oath of office on Agboola by the Assembly was done following the judgment of the courts.

Speaking with reporters after the swearing in, Agboola described his victory as the triumph of democracy, adding that powers that be attempted to truncate democracy in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here